top of page

I was already fascinated by human biology during my school years. Still, the decision to study medicine only came during my time in civilian service, where I worked as a paramedic for the Red Cross and helping people in difficult situations was the order of the day. Studying medicine in Innsbruck was learning-intensive and challenging, and significant was my joy when I graduated as a doctor of all medicine in 2008. 

At first, I decided on internal medicine; psychiatry, which was only taught in fragments during my studies, was yet to be on my radar. The transition to everyday hospital life, with many responsibilities and decisions that had to be made daily, was a challenge in addition to the long hours. The growing doubts about whether this job would be fulfilling for me, in the long run led me to take some time off, and I visited Hamburg for 4 months to complete a course in tropical medicine at the Bernhard Nocht Institute.

After completing the course, I found a job for 3 months at the Psychiatric University Hospital in Innsbruck. I saw psychiatry as the gateway to the university hospital. Still, from the beginning, I liked the work and was interested in learning more about mental illnesses and people's fates. As the focus of treatment was on psychopharmacological therapy and less on psychotherapy, I decided to move to Zurich in May 2013 to complete the remaining training period at the Kilchberg Sanatorium and learn psychotherapeutic skills in the day clinic and the outpatient clinic in an interdisciplinary context. 

Graduating as a specialist in psychiatry and psychotherapy and beginning a relationship in Barcelona in December 2015 opened the chapter into self-employment. As my partner sparked the body therapy interest in me in treating mental illness, we combined our strengths and opened the New Leaves Practice in August 2017. We have had the privilege of meeting many people over the last 5 years and expanding our knowledge through experience and process. Further training in Somatic Experiencing and training in Neuro- and Biofeedback, which I completed in May 2022, were the ideal complement to accompany more people in their processes in the future. 
 

Education & Training

  • Medical studies at the Medical University of Innsbruck in 2008, doctorate to Dr. medical univ

  • Specialist training in psychiatry and psychotherapy 2010-2016

  • Training as a certified neuro and biofeedback therapist, Institute for Neurofeedback and Biofeedback, Zurich 2021 to 2022

  • Postgraduate training in behavioral therapy psychotherapy at the Academy for Behavioral Therapy and Method Integration (AIM), Bern/Basel 2013-2015

  • Training in Somatic Experiencing, Beginner and Intermediate Level, Institute for Neurotracking, 2019 to 2020

bottom of page

top of page

BIO

Stefan Schmidinger

foti.png

Bereits während meiner Schulzeit war ich von der menschlichen Biologie fasziniert, der Entschluss, Medizin zu studieren, fiel aber erst während meiner Zeit beim Zivildienst, wo ich als Sanitäter beim Roten Kreuz tätig war und das Helfen von Menschen in schwierigen Situationen an der Tagesordnung war. Das Medizinstudium in Innsbruck war lernintensiv und herausfordernd und gross war die Freude, als ich 2008 als Doktor der gesamten Heilkunde abgeschlossen habe. 

Zuerst entschied ich mich für die Innere Medizin, die Psychiatrie, die im Rahmen des Studiums nur Bruchstückhaft gelehrt wurde, hatte ich zudem Zeitpunkt noch nicht am Radar. Der Übergang in den Krankenhausalltag, mit viel Verantwortungen und Entscheidungen, die Tag täglich zu treffen waren, war nebst der vielen Stunden eine Herausforderung. Die grösser werdenden Zweifel, ob dieser Beruf für mich auf Dauer erfüllend sein wird,  führten dazu, dass ich mich für eine Auszeit entschieden habe und besuchte für 4 Monate Hamburg, um am Bernhard Nocht Institut einen Kurs in Tropenmedizin zu absolvieren.

Nach Abschluss des Kurses fand ich eine Anstellung für 3 Monate in der Psychiatrischen Universitätsklinik Innsbruck. Die Psychiatrie sah ich als Eingangstor für die Universitätsklinik, jedoch fand ich bereits von Anfang an gefallen an der Arbeit und Interesse mehr über psychische Erkrankungen und die Schicksale von Menschen zu erfahren. Da  der Behandlungsschwerpunkt auf der psychopharmakologischen Therapie und weniger auf Psychotherapie lag, entschied ich mich im Mai 2013 nach Zürich zu ziehen, um im Sanatorium Kilchberg die verbleibende Ausbildungszeit zu absolvieren und die psychotherapeutischen Fähigkeiten in der Tagesklinik und im Ambulatorium im interdisziplinären Kontext zu erlernen. 

Der Abschluss als Facharzt für Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie, ein Beziehungsende und ein Beziehungsanfang in Barcelona im Dezember 2015 eröffnete das Kapitel in die Selbstständigkeit. Da mein Partner das körpertherapeutische Interesse in der Behandlung von psychischen Erkrankungen in mir weckte, entschieden wir uns, unsere Stärken zu verbinden und eröffneten im August 2017 die New Leaves Gemeinschaftspraxis und wir hatten das Privileg, in den letzten 5 Jahren vielen Menschen zu begegnen und unser Wissen durch die Erfahrung und die Prozesse erweitern. Weiterbildungen in Somatic Experiencing und eine Ausbildung in Neuro- und Biofeedback, die ich im Mai 2022 abschloss, waren die ideale Ergänzung, um zukünftig weitere Menschen in ihren Prozessen begleiten zu können. 

Ausbildungen & Weiterbildungen

  • Medizinstudium Medizinische Universität Innsbruck 2008, Promotion zum Dr. med. univ

  • Facharztausbildung Psychiatrie & Psychotherapie 2010-2016

  • Ausbildung zum diplomierten Neuro- und Biofeedbacktherapeut, Institut für Neurofeedback und Biofeedback, Zürich 2021 bis 2022

  • Postgraduate verhaltenstherapeutische Psychotherapieweiterbildung an der Akademie für Verhaltenstherapie und Methodenintegration (AIM), Bern/Basel 2013-2015

  • Fortbildung in Somatic Experiencing, Beginner und Intermediate Level, Institut für Neurotracking, 2019 bis 2020

Get in Touch

  • LinkedIn
bottom of page